Case Study: First Principles Consulting Improves Operations for Mining Clients with BigPicture

Mining is a significant primary industry and contributor to the Australian economy. First Principles Consulting focuses on improving management and operational effectiveness for clients in the mining sector.

First Principles helps clients put systems in place that enable managers to do their jobs more efficiently, from the operational level to mid-management to the C-suite. An effective approach will have everyone participating in a similar process of planning and getting work done, and then checking and adjusting plans to suit.

As part of the process of making an effective management plan, Patrick Mullen of FPC creates Value Driver Trees using BigPicture.

FPCMillingMED

“Previously I drew the Value Driver Trees with great difficulty using the drawing tools in Excel –grabbing cells, highlighting, and putting boxes around them,” explains Mullen. “It was an enormous job.”

The finished product would be a fairly static map with no linked data. All future adjustments were a laborious, manual process. Because some of FPC’s maps are gigantic with hundreds of topics, updating the Value Driver Tree consumed a lot of effort. And because the hand-drawn maps had limited functionality, the best use of them was to print them out on large format paper, with the myriad of detail barely readable.

BigPicture gives First Principles Consulting a powerful toolset to make Value Driver Trees dynamic – automatically updating as source data changes – and flexible for presentations and demonstrations with clients.

“There has been a gap in the market for a tool that isn’t just a visual tool like a mind map, but has calculation powers behind it,” says Mark Franklin, owner and principal of First Principles Consulting. “We were pretty happy to find BigPicture.”

“The payback on BigPicture is a no-brainer,” adds Mullen. “Payback comes in less than a day.”

Read the full case study here to learn more.

Summarize Data Visually with Rollup Calculations in a Data Map

BigPicture allows us to visualize complex information at a glance, and drill down for more detail by expanding topics. Rollup calculations help to summarize valuable data into an easy-to-digest manner. Rollup calculations can be used in data maps, linked maps, and org charts.

In the below data mapUnits Sold and Profit numbers are rolled up for each topic on the map. This lets us see easily what the numbers are for each region, and each year.

BigPicture_DataMap_RollupCalculations

This is what the original data looked like:

BigPicture_DataMap_RollupCalculations_data

We set three levels of grouping, first by year, then by region, and then by (product) category. We then selected the end topics, including the desired rollup calculations.

BigPicture_DataMap_RollupCalculations_EndTopics

That’s how we got the concise and easily graspable map shown above.

For more detail about this feature, see What are rollup calculations? in the Help Manual.

Today at 3pm EDT! Learn Mapping in Excel with BigPicture

Register now to learn mind mapping, diagramming, and organizational charts right in Excel, with BigPicture!

  • TODAY: Wednesday, March 18th – 3pm EDT – Register Now
    12noon PDT | 3pm EDT | 7pm UTC/GMT |8pm CET | 8am NZDT on March 19th
  • Thursday, March 26th – 1pm EDT – Register Now
    10am PDT | 1pm EDT | 5pm UTC/GMT | 6pm CET | 10:30pm IST
  • Wednesday, April 8th – 10am EDT – Register Now
    7am PDT | 10am EDT | 2pm UTC/GMT | 3pm BST | 4pm CEST | 7:30pm IST
  • Friday, April 17th – 12 noon EDT – Register Now
    9am PDT | Noon EDT | 4pm UTC/GMT | 5pm BST | 6pm CEST | 9:30pm IST
  • Thursday, April 23rd – 8pm EDT – Register Now
    April 24th: 8am AWST | 10am AEST | 12noon NZS

We’ll show you how BigPicture works, and how it can aid in strategic planning, human resource analysis, data exploration, and more. You’ll get a walk-through of how to set up a BigPicture diagram (or “map”), and illustrate several real-world examples of different applications. Questions and comments welcome.

Attend a Free Webinar to Learn BigPicture

Register now to explore mind mapping, diagramming, and organizational charts right in Excel, with BigPicture!

  • TOMORROW: Friday, March 6th – 4pm GMT/UTC – Register Now
    8am PST Pacific Standard Time
    11am EST Eastern Standard Time
    5pm CET Central European Time
  • Thursday, March 12th – 10pm GMT/UTC – Register Now
    3pm PDT Pacific Daylight Time
    6pm EDT – Eastern Daylight Time
    11pm CET Central European Time
    9am AEDT – March 13th – Australian Eastern Daylight Time
  • Wednesday, March 18th – 7pm GMT/UTC – Register Now
    12noon PDT Pacific Daylight Time
    3pm EDT – Eastern Daylight Time
    8pm CET Central European Time
    8am NZDT – March 19th – New Zealand Daylight Time
  • Thursday, March 26th – 5pm GMT/UTC – Register Now
    10am PDT Pacific Daylight Time
    1pm EDT – Eastern Daylight Time
    6pm CET Central European Time

We’ll show you how BigPicture works, and how it can aid in strategic planning, human resource analysis, data exploration, and more. You’ll get a walk-through of how to set up a BigPicture diagram (or “map”), and illustrate several real-world examples of different applications. Questions and comments welcome.

Join us this week!

5 Stars for BigPicture, in Small Business Trends

5StarsSmallBizTrendsSmall Business Trends reviewed BigPicture, and gave it 5 stars for Usefulness, Functionality, and Price — in summary, 5 stars all around!

The review gives a thorough overview of BigPicture’s features, saying, “BigPicture offers the ability to analyze business questions in a qualitative manner and the ability to visually show quantitative results in a visual, easy-to-understand way.”

With multiple illustrations and an in-depth look at features, the review examines mind mapping, flexible data maps, and org charts in BigPicture.

The author concludes: “With its deeply flexible features and functionality, as well as an ever growing set of documentation and videos, BigPicture is the one tool you don’t want to overlook in 2015.”

See the complete review at Small Business Trends.

 

 

Get to Know BigPicture Better in Free Webinars!

Are you curious about BigPicture for mind mapping, diagramming, data exploration, or org charts?  Here’s your chance to learn more.  First, if you haven’t already, try it for free and get acquainted. Still, as with any new piece of software, it can often feel like you’re just scratching the surface. We want to help you get the most from our tool, and can guarantee there are applications, shortcuts, and tips that can make your experience even more powerful and fun.

  • Thursday, February 19th – 7pm EST – Register Now
    Friday, Feb 20th 11am AEDT Australian Eastern Daylight Time
  • Wednesday, February 25th – 10am EST – Register Now
    3pm GMT Greenwich Mean Time
    4pm CET Central European Time

We’ll show you how BigPicture works, and how it can aid in strategic planning, human resource analysis, data exploration, and more. You’ll get a walk-through of how to set up a BigPicture diagram (or “map”), and illustrate several real-world examples of different applications.

After seeing how simple and flexible BigPicture is, you’ll be able to start trying it out on your own data and ideas!

NFLsalarymap


socialmediamap